Mum’s chicken soup

Nothing beats a childhood favourite dish, it envokes so many memories each time I whip one up.

Here’s one of my favourites, my mum’s classic chicken soup. I’ve never actually writtten this recipe down before, I usually adapt it slightly each time I make it depending on my mood at the time, so feel free to do the same.

Ingredients:

Vegetable oil (or butter for a richer flavour)

6 chicken thighs with bones (adds so much extra flavour, trust me!)

2 onions

2 sticks of celery

4 carrots

500g baby new potatoes

25g flour

1.2 litres chicken and/ or vegetable stock (I like to mix stock cubes for extra flavour)

salt and pepper to taste

Recipe:

Take a large non-stick pan, add a little oil and fry the chicken until golden brown on each side. Don’t worry if it’s not fully cooked through as it’ll carry on cooking later.

Take the chicken out and leave to one side, fry the onions in the same pan adding the celery and carrots and let cook for a few minutes.

Add in the flour and give everything a good stir. Let the flour cook for a minute or two.

Add in the stock and (carefully) add in the potatoes, and add the chicken back to the pan. Put the lid on the pan and leave to cook through for 30-40 minutes until the chicken is falling off the bones.

Take the chicken back out and on a plate shred using two forks – by this point the bones should just fall off so it’ll be nice and easy. The aim is to get nice bite sized chucks of chicken. Add the meat back to the soup and season to taste.

I like my soup to be chunky, so I’d serve it as is, putting any remaining soup into containers to either keep for the next day or freeze for another time. But if you prefer a smooth soup you can easily whizz this up using a blender. You could even add a dash of cream or creme fraiche for a creamier finish.

Other alterations I can remommend are adding in peas or other veggies of your choice. Just be aware of the cooking time needed for the veg, peas for example only need a few minutes so I throw them in right at the end so they don’t go mushy! The great thing is that anything goes with this, I mostly base my quantities on sight and what I’m in the mood for at the time.

You could also try adding in 150ml white wine before you add the stock, letting the alcohol bubble away and leaving a really tasty grown-up soup.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on what you’d add/ change to make it your own recipe.

Photo credit: taste of home

Leave a Reply

